Poem: The Passage of Time, Pt. 4: Before I Go Bald

In part 4 of the passage of time sequence, the man from part 3 has matured through adulthood and has reached his midlife crisis.

 

Poem: Before I Go Bald

Style: Quatrain, Loose Tautogram

(Written 06/29/2020)

 

I have a head heavy with hair,
Hearty, handsome, and in good health!
But I think the thick won’t long be there,
So watch as I waste my wealth!

I bought a bright Bugatti brand,
And I streaked down the streets!
A yacht for myself in youth, and
Sailed the sea in my sturdy seat!

For I am young yet,
But age attacks atrociously.
So before my sun sets
I’ll live my life luxuriously.

 


 

Once again, I wrote an alternate version to satisfy my creative desires since I was working under a strict set of parameters.

 

Poem: Before I Go Bald, Version II

Style: Quatrain

(Written 06/29/2020)

 

I got a head full of dark hair,
Don’t know how long it’ll stay there;
But I’m still young I know,
For atop my head my hair still grows.

Going to take my life and make the best of it
Because I know that I’m still a big hit.
Get my money and get a taste
Of good that are but a waste.

I bought a nice expensive car
That rockets like a shooting star.
Tearing up the asphalt streets
As the speakers blast my beats.

I go so fast that I total that one,
But I go back to buy another before I am done.
I press on the gas and again dare
To race the roads without a care.

My children are starting to call me old,
But, if I may be so bold,
I now say that I am young still;
I live life to the fullest, and I always will.

Leave a comment